No other show in Minnesota offers the unique blend of antique bottles, advertising, and stoneware featured at this event. For 43 years, dealers from across the Midwest have traveled to the Twin City area to sell at this show. We are pleased to announce our new location, the KC building on American Boulevard, just .2 miles west of Lyndale Avenue South in Bloomington. The 6000 square foot show room will be filled with artifacts from the saloons, breweries, drug stores, country stores, barber shops, soda works, and potteries of the past. Click on flyer below for more information.
We let this wonderful old sign slip through our hands 20+ years ago, and we are happy to have it back in the collection. It is believed to have hung on the front of the Gluek Brewing Company main brewery building in Northeast Minneapolis. The brewery was sold in 1964, and the building was razed in 1966. This one is a real survivor. 43 X 18 inches.
While browsing a New England antique shop last fall we found this gem hanging on the wall during our second pass around the shop. According to a penciled notation on the reverse, this jolly group is made up of the employees of the New England Brewing Co. of Hartford, Connecticut (1897 – Prohibition).This image could easily be confused with some we have seen of circa 1970 frat parties.
We were happy to recently acquire this metal lunch box embossed, “Compliments of Chr. Stahlmann Brewing Co. St. Paul, Minn.” Stahlmann was one of Minnesota’s earliest brewers. He died in 1888 and his family eventually sold the brewery to Jacob Schmidt. Many brewers advertised that they were the working man’s friend, and Stahlmann no doubt had that idea in mind when he ordered these lunch boxes. Three nesting compartments are found within, and when re-stacked this old treasure would hold a full lunch for a hungry worker. This is one of the more unusual pieces of breweriana in our collection.